Church of the Good Shepherd

Wherever you are on your journey of faith you are welcome here


The history of the Episcopal Church in the western mountains of Maine begins as early as the arrival of Squire Rangeley in the Mid 1800’s with the building of a small chapel for his wife and the early settlers.

The current Church began when a group of Rangeley citizens expressed their need to then Bishop, the Rt. Rev. Benjamin Brewster, in 1919. A home church was begun and in June of that year communion and baptismal services were conducted. In 1920 the Rev. Walter Howe held regular services during the summer.

In 1921, the first church services were held in a stable! The stable was moved to a location on Lake Street (now the Skowhegan Savings Bank parking lot), and renovated into a quaint church with parishioners doing most of the renovation. This “little church” was quite cozy. There was a wood furnace in the basement (undercroft) and a pump organ upstairs.  A few dedicated parishioners would come in the wee hours of the morning to build a roaring fire in the wood furnace so the church would be warm for the 11 o’clock service. Clergy were present in the summer, and members of the congregation would conduct the service during the colder months. Occasionally a supply priest would arrive to celebrate communion.

The church, originally a mission, became a parish in 1961 during the tenure of the Rev. Daniel Sullivan, under whose leadership the current church was built and dedicated in 1965.

Vicars and Rectors at Good Shepherd

1920-1921Walter E. Howe
1923Aubrey Gilmore
1924Howard H. Hussinger
1930George Bell
1932-1933Llewellyn Diplock
1934-1935James L. Hayes
1937-1940John R. McFarlane
1940-1943Richard M. Fenton
1944-1947David K. Montgomery
1947A.E. Scott
1948-1949Anthony P. Treasure
1950-1951W.E. Brown
1951Herbert S. Craig
1953-1955R.S. Smith
1955-1956Fr. Fox
1956-1966Daniel K. Sullivan
1966-1971Edgar M. Bailey
1971-1978H. James Raines
1980-1983Melvin Richardson
1984-1991Holly Eden
1993-2000Seth G. Richmond
2002-2007T. Kyle Grennen
2008-2015Judson Pealer
2016-2018Jennifer M. Reece
2020-Thom Rock

Church of the Good Shepherd - Rangeley, Maine | A member of The Episcopal Diocese of Maine, The Episcopal Church, and the Worldwide Anglican Communion